Home  Home
 Toerisme  Toerisme 

 Nieuws  Nieuws
 Fotoalbum  Fotoalbum
 Reviews  Reviews
 Links  Links
 Contact  Contact
 Sitemap  Sitemap
Het weer in Roseau
Click for Roseau, Dominica Forecast
Liever naar...
Antigua en Barbuda
Saint Lucia
Saint Kitts en Nevis
Saint Vincent en de Grenadines
Trinidad en Tobago
Wilt u op de hoogte gehouden worden van de laatste nieuws? Meld u zich hier aan.

Dominica.nl - English  home | sitemap | contact   

Dominica is een eiland in de Caribische Zee. Dominica ligt ten zuiden van Guadeloupe en ten noorden van Martinique, en behoort tot de Bovenwindse Eilanden van de Kleine Antillen. Op het eiland is de onafhankelijke staat Gemenebest van Dominica gevestigd (niet te verwarren met de Dominicaanse Republiek).

Dominica.nl - English
Dominica.nl is an Dutch site about the country Dominica.

Dominica, (French: Dominique) officially the Commonwealth of Dominica, is an island nation in the Caribbean Sea. To the north-northwest lies Guadeloupe, to the southeast Martinique. Its size is 754 square kilometres (291 sq mi) and the highest point in the country is Morne Diablotins, which has an elevation of 1,447 metres (4,750 ft). The Commonwealth of Dominica has an estimated population of 72,500. The capital is Roseau.

Dominica has been nicknamed the "Nature Isle of the Caribbean" for its seemingly unspoiled natural beauty. It is the youngest island in the Lesser Antilles, still being formed by geothermal-volcanic activity, as evidenced by the world's second-largest boiling lake. The island features lush mountainous rainforests, home of many very rare plant, animal, and bird species. There are xeric areas in some of the western coastal regions, but heavy rainfall can be expected inland. The Sisserou parrot, the island's national bird, is featured on the national flag. Dominica's economy is heavily dependent on both tourism and agriculture.

In the next hundred years after Columbus' landing, Dominica remained isolated, and even more Caribs settled there after being driven from surrounding islands as European powers entered the region. France formally ceded possession of Dominica to the United Kingdom in 1763. The United Kingdom then set up a government and made the island a colony in 1805. The emancipation of African slaves occurred throughout the British Empire in 1834, and, in 1838, Dominica became the first British Caribbean colony to have a legislature controlled by blacks. In 1896, the United Kingdom reassumed governmental control of Dominica, turning it into a crown colony. Half a century later, from 1958 to 1962, Dominica became a province of the short-lived West Indies Federation. In 1978, Dominica became an independent nation.

More information:

Alle rechten voorbehouden 2009 | Adverteren | Disclaimer